Donmar Warehouse



By Nina Segal

A Donmar Local Production

20 March – 25 April 2021

ASSEMBLY was broadcast live on YouTube on 20 March 2021 and a recording of the original broadcast was available to watch until 25 April 2021. Discover how we created this innovative digital production in our MEET THE CREATORS video series or read our blog ‘The making of ASSEMBLY’.

Imagine the future. However you choose to imagine it. Now imagine it in your hands.

What does community mean in a time of division and separation?

Mixing live performance, animation and sound, ASSEMBLY looks at the impact of humans on nature and what we might build together for a better future. It’s about trying, failing, and trying again. In times of emergency, it is about hope.

Created by writer Nina Segal (In the Nighttime (Before the Sun Rises), Gate), director Joseph Hancock ((This Isn’t) A True Story, Almeida Young Company) and the Donmar Local Company, ASSEMBLY is a live digital performance created in collaboration with video designer and director of photography Andrzej Goulding (Teenage Dick, Donmar), set and costume designer Frankie Bradshaw (Sweat, Donmar and West End), composer and sound designer Max Pappenheim (The Night of the Iguana, West End) and lighting designer Sam House (#HashtagLightie, Arcola). This is the first production from the Donmar Local Company – members of the community who live and work in the Donmar’s home boroughs of Camden and Westminster.

ASSEMBLY was rehearsed online and presented in line with all Government guidelines.

Assembly is dedicated to the memory of Michael Turney, a founding member of our Local Company 



Production Photos


Angie Lieu (River)
Brian McGinnis (Jed, Bee)
David Cunningham (Colin, Polar Bear Cub)
Jenneba Sie-Jalloh (Facilitator)
Josiah Phoenix (Max, Cloud)
Karen Walkden (Deborah, Glacier)
Martin Fisher (Allun, Heatwave)
Michael Turney (Derek (on the phone), and The Stars)
Patrick Burrows (Gordo, Mick (on the phone), and New Moon)
Paul Ringo (News Reporter)
Pen Riley (Sylvia, The Planets)
Rita Barry (The Sun)
Sadhbha Odufuwa-Bolger (Kaysha, Mouse 1)
Stephen Rooney (Polar Bear)
Ubah Egal (Plant)
Victoria Valcheva (Shiv, Wind)
Youyangg Song (Mary, Mouse 2)


Writer Nina Segal
Director Joseph Hancock
Video Designer and Director of Photography Andrzej Goulding
Set and Costume Designer Frankie Bradshaw
Composer and Sound Designer Max Pappenheim
Lighting Designer Sam House
System Designer, Programmer and Operator Dan Trenchard
Producer Liz Bate
Assistant Director Eleanor Clack
Participant Recruitment Lily Einhorn